Office of Institutional Advancement
What's New at Jeff

<< Back to News & Events List

Don’t Be a Gluten For Punishment – Know Where the Enemy is Hiding

06/20/18

Gluten free

You have just been diagnosed with a gluten-related disorder. Now what? To avoid the common symptoms of these conditions—cramping, bloating, diarrhea, constipation, and fatigue—you have to follow a gluten-free diet. But Emily Rubin, RD, LDN, a registered dietitian at Thomas Jefferson University’s Division of Gastroenterology and Hepatology, warns that gluten can hide in the sneakiest places.

Here are just some of the food items that could contain gluten:

  • Seasonings, soups, and gravies: Look for additives like hydrolyzed vegetable protein, natural and artificial flavor, dextrin, texturized vegetable protein, etc.
  • Packaged nuts: Pay attention to extra small print at the bottom of the label that reads, “may contain wheat.”
  • French fries: Most fryers are used to cook foods other than fries, such as breaded chicken fingers, mozzarella sticks, or wings. These foods could contaminate the fryer.
  • Eggs: When in a restaurant, ask if the eggs are cooked on the same grill as pancakes and French toast.
  • Pizza: Even if a pizza is labeled gluten-free, it may be made on the same pan as a regular pizza.
  • Chinese/Japanese foods: Ask restaurants if they offer gluten-free soy sauce. And the ever-popular California sushi roll is made with surimi (imitation crab) that contains wheat.
  • Movie theater popcorn: The creamy butter on top isn’t real butter, and it contains gluten.
  • Prescription medications and vitamin supplements: There are many inactive ingredients in medications that could contain gluten.