Office of Institutional Advancement

Richard W. Hevner Professorship

Join Team Hevner
Hevner Professorship

When they write the history of tomorrow’s Jefferson, one of the heroes will be Rick Hevner. Under his leadership as Chair of the Board of Trustees, TJU and TJUH were reunited, creating the One Jefferson we are today. Rick has led Jefferson through a period of immense growth, overseeing our mergers with Abington, Aria, Philadelphia University, and soon, Kennedy. He also spearheaded Jefferson’s novel hub-and-hub model of shared governance, as well as the enterprise-wide embrace of technological solutions to the challenges of 21st medicine, education, and research.

His guidance of our highly functioning and cohesive Board of Trustees has ensured that these tremendous developments have been done strategically, creatively, and with aplomb. Rick has been a voice for change and a key catalyst for numerous initiatives that have positioned Jefferson as the health and higher education institution of the future. To celebrate his legacy of optimism and accomplishment, we have a big goal worthy of Rick:

Creating the Richard W. Hevner Professorship.

Giving Levels

Join the team and make a gift to support this effort and in turn the tremendous work of our physician-scientists. Your gift may be pledged over five years.

Add your name to the list! Join Team Hevner today!

For more information or to pledge your gift, contact Jaime Porter, Vice President of Advancement Operations and Campaign Director, at 215-955-0436 or

Thank You to Team Hevner

The generous benefactors of the Richard W. Hevner Professorship:

Methodist Hospital Foundation
Colleen Wyse & Stephen K. Klasko, MD, MBA
Cristina G. Cavalieri
Elizabeth A. Dale, EdD
Patricia & Peter L. DeAngelis
John C. Ekarius
Kathleen P. Gallagher
Anne & Charles G. Lewis
Laurence M. Merlis
Esther Nash, MD & David Nash, MD
Robert J. Schena
Mark L. Tykocinski, MD

Anne B. Docimo, MD, MBA
Kathleen P. Kinslow, CRNA, EdD, MBA
Bonnie & Jeffrey Stevens

Theodore A. Christopher, MD
Tricia Gomella, MD & Leonard G. Gomella, MD
Neil Gomes
Joseph B. Hill

Gregory C. Kane, MD
Louise & William M. Keane, MD
Vijay M. Rao, MD
Alfred C. Salvato, Jr.
Stephen Spinelli, Jr., PhD
Theresa Yeo, PhD & Charles J. Yeo, MD

Joseph W. Devine
Hugh J. Lavery
Neil G. Lubarsky
Colleen and James Robinson
Stephen T. Smith
Michele Dougherty
Janet E. Guthart
Jill Kyle
Meg McGoldrick
Jaime Porter
Robin Sheldon
Debra Zelnick

On October 30, 2017, a group of family, friends, colleagues, and Jefferson leaders gathered to surprise Rick with the news that we are fundraising to create a professorship in his name.

View photos from the announcement and celebration »

Hevner Professorship