Office of Institutional Advancement


Medical Education

The Sidney Kimmel Foundation
Thomas Jefferson University has received a $110 million gift — the single largest in its history — from the Sidney Kimmel Foundation. The gift will benefit Jefferson Medical College.


Jeannie M. Beach & Dr. James D. Beach Memorial Scholarship Lunch
This year’s Jennie M. Beach and Dr. James D. Beach Memorial Scholarship recipients were recently honored at the annual Beach Memorial Scholarship Luncheon.

James D. & Mary Jo Danella Family Scholarship
The couple, who are friends with and patients of several Jefferson physicians, recently created the James D. and Mary Jo Danella Family Scholarship Fund to support SKMC students—particularly those who show leadership potential.

MU Medical Student House Association Memorializes Jefferson Urologist with Scholarship & Lectureship
The sale of of a medical fraternity chapter house in Philadelphia establishes the Paul Zimskind, MD '57, PhD Scholarship Fund and Memorial Lectureship in Urology.

Physicians Aid Association of the Delaware Valley Supports JMC Students
The Physicians Aid Association of the Delaware Valley (PAA) recently made a $70,000 gift to support scholarships for Sidney Kimmel Medical College at Thomas Jefferson University students with financial need.

Carl G. & Evelyn Ay Sempier Nursing Scholarship
Alumna Carlyn Sempier Darby, BSN ’80, established the scholarship in honor of her parents to assist nursing students pursuing a bachelor’s degree.

Alfred P. Spivack, MD Scholarship
Dr. Spivack has always wanted to contribute, to add something new. To that end, he established the Alfred P. Spivack, MD Scholarship Fund to benefit Sidney Kimmel Medical College students in the Design Track.

The Troetel Scholarship
William M. Troetel, PhD ’72, attributes his professional success to his Jefferson education—and gratitude for his academic experience has inspired him to give back.


Ellen & Ron Caplan Endowment Directorship
The endowment behind the Ellen and Ron Caplan Directorship will be critical in advancing new research and education in integrative health.

Sidney Cohen, MD, Named First Holder of J. Edward Berk, MD Professorship in Medicine
Berk, MD '36, earned international recognition for his contributions to the field of gastroenterology. Cohen is also a world-renowned gastroenterologist.

Havens Establish Professorship in Infectious Disease
Kathleen Squires, MD, division director for infectious diseases in the Department of Medicine, will be the first physician invested as the W. Paul and Ida H. Havens Professor.

Lubert Family Endows Professorship in Cardiology
A University trustee from 2005 through 2011, Ira Lubert became an avid supporter of Jefferson’s cardiology team after witnessing the compassionate care they provided his mother.

Kenichiro Hasumi Endows Professorship in Medical Oncology
Takami Sato, MD, PhD, was invested as the first K. Hasumi, MD, Professor of Medical Oncology at a ceremony on March 6th, 2013.

Rodney D. Bell, MD, Invested as Lynne and Harold Honickman Professor of Neurology
Longtime Jefferson friends Lynne and Harold Honickman established the professorship, which will promote clinical care and research in the field of neurology, vascular neurology and stroke.

Lynne & Harold Honickman Establish Professorship in Neurology
Rodney D. Bell, MD, professor of neurology, will be invested at a ceremony in June 2014.

Jane & Leonard Korman Endow Professorship in Pulmonary Medicine
Gregory Kane, MD ’87, invested as the first Jane and Leonard Korman Professor of Pulmonary Medicine at a ceremony on May 9, 2013.

Michael P. Savage, MD, Named Ralph J. Roberts Professorship of Cardiology
The endowed professorship was made possible through generous donations from the families of Lawrence S. Smith and John R. Alchin, former co-chief financial officers of Comcast Corp.

Two Faculty members Named as Holders of Rothman Institiute Endowed Professorships
William J. Hozack, MD, was named the Walter H. Annenberg Professorship in Joint Replacement Surgery, and Gerald R. Williams, Jr., MD, was named the John M. Fenlin, Jr., MD, Professorship in Shoulder and Elbow Surgery.

Fellowships & Lectureships

The Baxter Family Foundation Creates the Hemant J. Desai, MD Fellowship in Neonatology
The Baxter Family Foundation pledges to create the Hemant J. Desai, MD Fellowship in Neonatology.

Susan Donahue Honors Husband with Endowed Lectureship in the Department of Surgery
Susan Donahue has made a gift to establish the Philip E. Donahue, MD, Lectureship in Benign Gastrointestinal Diseases.

Robert Keller Donation Supports GI Education 
The $41,000 gift will enable faculty and fellows of the Institute to attend educational conferences and conduct research.