Philadelphia University + Thomas Jefferson University

News & Events

<< Back to News & Events List

Hess Elected Chair of the ASHP Clinical Specialists and Scientists Section


Mary Hess, PharmD, FASHP, FCCM, was recently elected Chair of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists’ (ASHP) Section of Clinical Specialists and Scientists. Dr. Hess is currently associate dean for student affairs and associate professor in the department of pharmacy practice at Jefferson College of Pharmacy (JCP).

As Chair of the Section of Clinical Specialists and Scientists, Dr. Hess will identify additional educational and practice opportunities for the section membership and will further ASHP’s overall organizational agenda. Dr. Hess has been active in the section for quite some time, having twice previously served as facilitator for her practice specialty, critical care. In addition to her activity within the Section of Clinical Specialists and Scientists, Dr. Hess also served as a member of ASHP’s Commission on Credentialing.

"It is important for members to be engaged in the organization as everyone has something unique to contribute. Each of our contributions together makes the organization stronger and more valuable to its members," shares Dr. Hess.

Dr. Hess contributes her expertise as a clinical pharmacist, researcher and educator to various professional, hospital and academic organizations including ASHP, the American College of Clinical Pharmacy, and the Society of Critical Care Medicine,. She has won numerous awards for her contributions to the field of clinical pharmacy practice, including the APhA Foundation Pinnacle Award and the Hospital Pharmacy Leadership Award, presented by ASHP. Dr. Hess also serves as a reviewer for journals including AJHP, Orthopedics and Pharmacotherapy and publications like AACN Critical Care Pharmacology . Dr. Hess’ extensive leadership experience has prepared her to take on her new role within ASHP.

For more information, contact Jane Clinton, 215-503-9865,