Philadelphia University + Thomas Jefferson University
News & Events

<< Back to News & Events List

JCP Associate Dean Appointed Co-Director of University Interprofessional Education


JCP Associate Dean Appointed Co-Director of University Interprofessional Education

Elena Umland, PharmD, JCP Associate Dean of Academic Affairs and Professor of Pharmacy Practice has been named Co-Director of the Jefferson Center for InterProfessional Education (JCIPE). Dr. Umland shares JCIPE responsibilities with Lauren Collins, MD who is an Associate Professor of Family and Community Medicine and Geriatrics in Sidney Kimmel Medical College.

Established in 2007, JCIPE’s mission is to improve patient care through implementing and evaluating patient-centered interprofessional education (IPE) and collaborative practice (CP) initiatives throughout the Jefferson curriculum. JCIPE creates a culture of collaborative educational practice, setting the standards for team-based training and developing evidence to support and implement IPE. In its 10-year history, the Center has amassed numerous honors and external grant awards, earning an international reputation as a leader in inteprofessional education.

Since 2007, Dr. Umland has been the Associate Dean for Academic Affairs in the Jefferson College of Pharmacy, serving as the primary pharmacy liaison to JCIPE and its programs. Dr. Umland was one of the first recipients of Jefferson’s IPE Education Award, and she currently facilitates pharmacy faculty involvement in a number of IPE activities, including the Health Mentors Program, the End of Life Symposium (part of an IP Grand Rounds course), TeamSAFE training, and a Root Cause Analysis event. Dr. Umland also serves as Chair of the IPE curriculum committee where she has launched the development of a new online inventory for tracking student participation in IPE activities, as well as a new transcript designation for Excellence in Collaborative Practice.

Dr. Umland received her undergraduate and doctor of pharmacy degrees from Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and Science. She completed an American Society of Health-System Pharmacist Primary Care Pharmacy Practice Residency at VA Medical Center in Iowa City and completed the Academic Leadership Fellows Program with the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy.