Philadelphia University + Thomas Jefferson University
Sidney Kimmel Medical College
Department of Medicine

Improvement Committee

Chair: Lawrence D. Ward, MD, MPH, FACP
Staff Liaison: Cara Reynolds, MHS

The Department of Medicine has initiated its own Quality Improvement (QI) Committee, comprised of representatives from every division with expertise and interest in continuous quality improvement. The committee, which meets approximately once a month, provides participants with a forum for sharing QI projects, learning QI methodology from each other, and brainstorming solutions to shared challenges. Committee members work together to address the Department’s dimensions of quality, including safety, effectiveness and efficiency, as well as patient-centered, equitable and timely care.

The goal of the committee is to develop division-based dashboards attributable down to the level of individual physicians. The data from these will then be utilized in order to initiate performance improvement projects using interdisciplinary working groups in practices and in the hospital. Involvement of house staff and fellows is encouraged and seen as instrumental in their education.

Cardiology: John Doherty, MD

Gastroenterology: Jorge Prieto, MD

Infectious Diseases: Bryan Hess, MD

Medical Education / Residency

Thomas Jefferson University Hospital: Rachel Sorokin, MD

Endocrinology: Lindsay Bischoff, MD

Hematology: Dianne Pulte, MD

Internal Medicine: Rhea Powell, MD, Bracken Babula, MD

Rheumatology: Oscar Irigoyen, MD

Nephrology: Yasmin Brahmbhatt, MD

Hospital Medicine: Rebecca Jaffe, MD

Pulmonary: David Oxman, MD

College of Population Health: Bettina Berman